Award Recipient

This year’s Lennox Robinson Award will be presented to Suzanne Jones, a well-known and highly respected member of Cork’s theatrical community. Suzanne will receive the award at 2pm on Sunday 15th May in the Douglas G.A.A. club, before a performance of ‘The Far-Off Hills’ by Lennox Robinson.

The Festival Committee’s official statement reads:

Few in Cork have done as much in recent years as Suzanne Jones to revive interest in one of our country’s finest, most important and, these days, sadly overlooked playwrights. In consideration of her hardwork in developing youth and grass-roots level theatre within this city, the Lennox Robinson Literary Festival Committee feel that she is an eminently worthy recipient of this year’s award.

The award will be presented by the 2015 recipient, internationally acclaimed Taiwanese novelist Professor Ying-Tai Chang.

Past recipients of the Lennox Robinson Literary Award are:

  • 2015 – Prof. Ying-Tai Chang (internationally acclaimed Taiwanese novelist)
  • 2014 – Eoghan Harris (former Senator, playwright and screenwriter)